first days, fun days

WHEW it’s been a LONG – but FUN – day and I’m dog tired!

I woke up earlier than I normally do, drove in about 45 minute slight traffic, and arrived for my FIRST DAY OF WORK! Seriously, I think this is the best job I’ve ever had. It’s no longer thinking “how much longgggerrrrrr” throughout the day. Okay, okay I know it’s only my FIRST day, but it was about 10000x better than any other first day at a job I’ve had!



They gave me my “uniform” today!

Now you know where I work. =)



Here’s some “my iPhone eats food” photos from my first day at work!

These are their one healthier lower fat cupcakes – made with a secret ingredient! It’s also their easiest cupcake to “frost” (hence why I was working on it!). Just dip and go!



The more experienced decorators decorated these with cute little ribbons:



These are the extra cupcakes that are made for “just in case” – just in case a cupcake that is supposed to go in an order gets messed up! Towards closing time, many customers will stop in and ask if the “extras” are ready yet so they can buy them. Or a lot of them will call or ask us to call when the “extras” are ready.

The fourth one from the left is my absolute favorite – their SNICKERDOODLE cupcake. I plan to eat one of these every single day I’m working here. It’s just a billowy, slightly sweet and slightly cinnamony CLOUD in your mouth. I brought a mini Snickerdoodle cupcake for Jeff today too, and he LOVED it of course.



For lunch today I didn’t have anything planned because I wasn’t really sure how it was going to work out. I ended up taking a half hour lunch and went to Rubio’s! Haven’t been here in forever and I LOVE their fish tacos with flour tortillas!

Trust me, there’s delicious flakey fish under there!

Well, I’m EXHAUSTED and should sleep soon, but before sleeping I need to do some mother’s day online shopping and maybe browse some apartments closer to work on Craigslist. I contacted someone through Craigslist regarding an apartment yesterday and when I got a reply back it was most definitely a scam. I HATE SCAMS! The response I got went something along the lines of “I’ve gotten tons of responses for this apartment and there’s only one person ahead of you! Whoever gives me a deposit first gets the apartment! Unfortunately my company sent me to Africa for a little while and the rest of my family is in the East Coast so you’ll have to wire me the money.” And lalalala the email is about 6 paragraphs long. There’s some merit to the saying that when someone gives more detail than necessary, they’re probably lying. There’s a saying like that right?

Anyway, GOOD NIGHT!

Have you ever been scammed? I have, a few years ago through Craigslist (and FALLEN for it – thankfully, not all the way though).

10 Comments to “first days, fun days”

  1. those scams AGGRAVATE me!! because I know there are so many people who actually fall for that crap. :(

    YAAAY for first day – it looks delicious! I will give you my address and you can send me those “just in case” cakes! ;)

  2. That’s wonderful that you had such a great day at work!! Isn’t it neat when you go to work and love what you do! :)

    You know I’ve never eaten a fish taco before. Am I like the only person on the planet who’s never had one? :)

    Hope you can find a place closer to work. Good thing you recognized the scam. I don’t recall ever being scammed before, but this day in age, we all have to be on our guard because it seems like there are a lot of people out there trying to scam others. Not cool!

    Anyway, think of me when you eat a snickerdoodle cupcake tomorrow. I’d love one!! :)

  3. Those look like some seriously good cupcakes and so beautiful. Best of luck finding the perfect apartment, I love your updates. Thanks for sharing.

  4. That definitely sounds like a scam! Why are some people so shady? So glad to hear your first day went well! That’s awesome!

  5. That is the problem with Craigslist – so many scams!
    Congrats on the new job – the cupcakes look adorable :)

  6. I hate the scammers! I’ve applied to jobs before where they won’t even tell you the name of the company and expect you to email them all your personal info, yeh I’ll get right on that – NOT!!

  7. Scammers suck!! That’s crazy! Congrats on your first day! The cupcakes look so delicious. How fun!

Leave a comment