thai and books

I hope everyone had a wonderful Easter weekend! Over here we celebrated Easter at church, and the rest of the weekend was very relaxing. It was nice to not have set plans this weekend especially since past weekends have been jam packed.

For lunch yesterday we had Thai food! It really hit the spot because we both haven’t had Thai food in a loooong while.



We ordered some Thai Iced Teas…



Pad See Ew:



and Green Curry with Chicken:



We did come to a conclusion after this weekend ended though. WE NEED TO STOP EATING OUT! Why is it so easy to eat out? Just this past weekend we ate at this Thai restaurant, Dickey’s BBQ, and a burger place called Jack’s Prime. One meal out can easily total to $30, which can really add up.

So our conclusion? To really, really, really make an effort to eat out only ONCE a week. Let’s see if we can do it!



Last night I stayed up waaaay too late reading this:

This is one of my favorite books, EVER. I read this first when I was in Middle School and after that many MANY times. But then I ended up giving this book away, along with ALL of my favorite childhood books, which is one of the biggest regrets of my life (melodramatic much?). I have this habit of throwing/giving away anything I don’t need. I HATE clutter, and hated it even as a kid.

So of course, as I became a foolish teenager, I thought, “I don’t need these books anymore! I’ve waaay outgrown them now!” and I gave my whole collection away. Foolish, foolish, foolish.



But slowly, slowly I am trying to build up my childhood collection again. I recently repurchased a couple other childhood favorites:

Probably another ALL-TIME favorite.



And another favorite classic. Ahhh, memories. I’m hoping to get the whole collection again.



I love the idea of Kindles and iPads (and totally want one for myself), but for childhood books (and cookbooks), I’m all about the real deal. I mean, I hope my own kids will one day read these same classics and I wouldn’t want them to read it from a Kindle or iPad! So repurchasing these books is totally an investment. =) (I’m trying to make myself feel better after giving away tons and tons of childhood classics. SIGH.)

What were your favorite books growing up? How many times do you usually eat our per week?

13 Comments to “thai and books”

  1. That Thai iced tea looks so good!! I might have to do some searching to see if I can figure out how to make. It looks very strong! The rest of your meal looks wonderful as well! I’ve been wanting to try Thai food for 20 years now but still haven’t gotten around to it. I really need to just get myself to a restaurant and try it! :)

    We don’t eat out that much…about once every two weeks…unless you count eating at deli at Whole Foods. We eat lunch there once a week. But as far as restaurants are concerned…usually just once every couple of weeks.

    My favorite books growing up….well…I read like crazy and loved so many books. I’ve always loved sci fi, and one of my favorite series of books as a kid was Dune. I loved all of J.R.R. Tolken’s books, as well as Isaac Asimov and Arthur C. Clarke. Laura Ingalls Wilder’s books are wonderful too! :)

    • i’m so jealous that you guys are able to eat out so rarely! it’s such a struggle for us…hopefully we’ll get better and better as time goes on. =)

      i love thai food – you should give it a try! pad thai and pad see ew are popular choices, as are the curries.

      i’ve been wanting to make Thai Iced Tea for sooo long too. i’ve tried making some mock ones, but i think i have to make my tea 10000x stronger than i am. let me know if you get a good recipe!

  2. Wow! I just had a complete blast from the past right now. I complete forgot abou those books. I use to looove Island of the Blue Dolphin.Now I’m feeling all nostalgic.

  3. aw i’m so happy to find someone else who’s read Island of the Blue Dolphins! it’s such a great book…i forgot how said it was though! but i still love it <3

  4. I had phad see ew for dinner tonight also! :)

    I loved little house books, judy blume books and the sweet valley high series. I like books, all books, too much to want an e-reader… I am sad that some bookshops are closing. I like to hold a book in my hands, turn the pages and smell them! yes, I smell books. they smell good!!

  5. I love, love, love Island of the Blue Dolphins!!!! One of my faves of all time. I think I also remember one called My Side of the Mountain, it was about a boy who lived in a carved out tree and had a pet hawk – does anyone else remember this one? When I got older I loved the book Summer Sisters by Judy Blume. Thanks for bringing back all the memories:)

  6. I love that tea. It really looks delicious. I was into Nancy Drew big time. This is my first visit to your blog and I’ve just spent some time browsing through your earlier entries. I’m so glad I did that. You’ve created a lovely spot for your readers to visit and I’ll definitely be back. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  7. You eat the most beautiful food I’ve ever seen. Makes me wish I lived on the west coast instead of the east.
    I didn’t get into books until my early twenties, but I do remember “Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs” being a favorite growing up. You can only imagine my excitement when it was made into a movie.

  8. Oh my goodness this is so funny! I was just thinking the other day about digging out all my old little house on the prairie books and re-reading them. Those were my favorite when I was a kid!

Leave a Reply

