key lime pie take II

It hasn’t been too long since I made my last Key Lime Pie, but I just made another one today.

I’m kind of a perfectionist when it comes to cooking/baking…and gahh who am I kidding, all aspects of my life. The last Key Lime Pie wasn’t perfect in my eyes. The filling was too sour. And also, the recipe I came up with ended up making too much filling – too much that it all didn’t fit in the pie pan. NO. no. NO.

So even though there really is NO reason whatsoever to make two Key Lime Pies in less than a week, I did for the sake of finding my favorite Key Lime Pie recipe.

I mean, who KNOWS when I may need to make a Key Lime Pie. I’d rather be prepared and make a recipe in confidence knowing that it will be delicious, than crossing my fingers that it will come out okay. OK, I’ve never in my 25 years of living ever had a time when I was “required” to make a Key Lime Pie, but whatever, I like to be prepared!

And I would’ve made a third pie before the week really ended had today’s recipe “failed” again.

But it didn’t.

Thankfully.



This recipe requires a lot less lime juice than the last recipe did. Don’t worry, it’s still nice and tart – just not overly so!



And again, I used my garlic presser. Let me tell you, it is a WHOLE lot easier to squeeze out 1/3 cup of lime juice than 1 whole cup of lime juice. Just another plus to this recipe! :)



As you can see, the filling didn’t go all the way to the top of the pie pan – which I wanted!



I didn’t want the filling to go all the way to the top because I had big plans for this bad pie. Big plans including heavy whipping cream…and a little sugar…

There is nothing like homemade whipped cream. I don’t know why I don’t make it more often – it’s SO easy! But I will say that Reddiwhip is pretty delicious too and definitely something to have on hand for quick convenience.

Strawberries + Homemade whipped cream = A bite of heaven

There’s a mathematical equation I never learned in school but have found useful in life.

Yummy.



But the real purpose for this homemade whipped cream was for the Key Lime Pie of course. So in honor of it, I added in a dash of Key Lime zest to the homemade whipped cream.



And topped the beautiful cloudy mix onto the pie.



And then decorated it with thinly sliced Key Limes.

Not OVERLY tart, and not OVERLY sweet either. Just perfect.

Make this for yourself too! Of course, regular limes could be used in place of Key Limes and if you like things on the tart side, you can add a couple more tablespoons of lime juice.




Key Lime Pie
Makes:
1 Pie



Ingredients:

1 9 inch Graham Cracker crust (store bought or make your own)

4 egg yolks

1/3 cup Key Lime juice (+2 T if you like things more tart)

1 can condensed milk

1 tsp vanilla extract



for the Key Lime whipped cream:

1 cup heavy whipping cream

2 T sugar (more if you want it sweeter, less if you want it less sweet)

1 T vanilla bean paste

1-2 tsp Key Lime zest



Directions

Preheat the oven to 350F.

Whisk egg yolks in a large bowl. Whisk in Key Lime juice, condensed milk, and vanilla extract until smooth. Set aside and let the mixture thicken for 15-20 minutes.

Pour mixture into the Graham Cracker crust. Stick into the oven for about 15 minutes or until the mixture is set and not super jiggly.

Cool completely in the fridge.

Meanwhile, make the whipped topping by combining the heavy whipping cream, sugar, vanilla bean paste and Key Lime zest in a bowl. With a hand mixer or stand mixer, whip on high until soft peaks form.

When the pie has completely cooled, cover the top with the Key Lime whipped cream and decorate with thinly sliced Key Limes.



Key Limes. They’re a good thing.

19 Comments to “key lime pie take II”

  1. I will Most Definitely be making this! I saw key limes at the store yesterday and thought of you :)

  2. That looks incredible. I am such a sucker for tart desserts.

  3. Yum! I like the white whipped cream topping – I LOVE hand-whipped cream, I refuse to use the mixer to whip it, there’s just something about slow-whipping it…
    And the key lime looks delectable.

  4. You are too funny. Two pies in a week, all for the sake of perfection. Though I will admit, that second pie does look like total sweet-tart perfection. I can’t wait to try it. On behalf of all key lime pie lovers, Thank you for your perserverance.

  5. Gorgeous photos!! My dad’s favorite pie is key lime. I’ll have to save this for when he wants one. :)

  6. What beautiful photos!!! My mouth is watering!! I’m dying for a slice!!! :)

  7. I’m a displaced, homesick Floridian, I know good key lime pie when I see it! Your photos have my mouth watering!!

  8. oh.my.ga! I thought the last one looked good but this one takes the cake, er, pie!! And that picture with all the sliced limes is gorgeous!

  9. Another beautiful key lime!! I loved the look of the last one, but this one looks perfect too! Glad you found a recipe you’re happy with.

  10. These pictures…this recipe! It is all too much for my hungry eyes right now :-) I am saving this recipe because I too like to be prepared for anything! There is always a good reason to make more than one of the same dessert but in the name of perfection is the best one!

  11. Yay! you perfected the recipe – I was waiting for you to post this :-)

  12. I’ve never made key lime pie, but yours looks delicious :) I might make some and then let my Canon eat it ;)

Leave a Reply

