a key lime craving

About a week ago, I was watching Food Network and Bobby Flay’s Throwdown was on. The dish for the particular episode was Key Lime Pie. I’ve never had Key Lime Pie nor really ever wanted to have Key Lime Pie, but by the end of the episode, I was craving a Key Lime Pie like nothing I had craved before.



For this reason, I was super excited to find Key Limes for only 98 cents/bunch at Fresh & Easy the other day. This find put me over the edge to make my craving a reality.

I bought 2 bunches of Key Limes just because I wasn’t sure how juicy they would be and didn’t want to run short on juice and have to run to the store in the middle of making my pie. What can I say, I like to be prepared!

These limes, however, ended up being quite juicy! Especially when squeezed with a garlic presser.

I’m convinced that a garlic presser should be renamed to a Key Lime presser. I was a little sad because after buying this garlic presser, I found I never used it. I think one of the most satisfying culinary tasks is crushing garlic with a knife. I LOVE doing that! And thus, I find I never pull out my garlic presser when I use garlic.

But this garlic presser produced so much more juice out of each Key Lime than my weak hand ever could.



Since I’ve never even had Key Lime Pie before, I wasn’t even sure exactly how it should taste. But I went online and researched recipe after recipe and I found that the filling basically amounted to these simple ingredients:

Egg Yolks, Condensed Milk, Key Lime Juice



And ermm…I decided to go the easy route with the crust this time around. Hey, it was only 99 cents! Can’t beat that. :) Once I actually buy a pie pan, I will make my own crust though – hold me to it!



So, pretty simple, eh? But I also found that though the ingredients are pretty standard, the proportions of each ingredient varied slightly recipe from recipe. In the end, I ended up using these proportions (which I will change slightly next time I make a Key Lime Pie, which will be very soon!):

-4 egg yolks

-2 cans of condensed milk

-1 cup of fresh Key Lime juice



It produced a beautiful pie.

This was the pie, prebaking.



Once I took the pie out of the oven, I stuck it into the fridge to cool and then decorated it simply with a little Reddiwhip and Key Lime slices.

This, was delicious, BUT it was a little too sour – even for us sour-lovers! I had to douse my whole slice of pie in a lot more Reddiwhip, which made it REALLY delicious, but I’d like to enjoy it without having to do that next time.

So next time, I’ll reduce the Key Lime juice from 1 cup to about 1/2 a cup, reduce the condensed milk from 2 cans to 1 can, and make a couple more changes. This new Key Lime Pie will happen soon, so stay tuned!

Though I won’t be making this exact Key Lime Pie recipe again, I’ll post it anyway (not in the Recipes tab though, since it’s not something I’d make again). You may like it if you like your Key Lime Pie really sour!



Key Lime Pie

Makes: 1 Pie



Ingredients:

1 9 inch Graham Cracker crust (store bought or make your own)

4 egg yolks

1 cup Key Lime juice

2 cans condensed milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

Whipped cream



Directions

Preheat the oven to 375F.

Whisk egg yolks in a large bowl. Whisk in Key Lime juice, condensed milk, and vanilla extract until smooth and well mixed.

Pour mixture into the Graham Cracker crust. Stick into the oven for about 20 minutes or until the mixture is set and not super jiggly.

Cool completely in the fridge and then top it whipped topping.



18 Comments to “a key lime craving”

  1. YUM. I look forward to the final recipe, I’d love to make this… it looks springy and fresh. and an excuse to use whip creme? I’m on it.

  2. AHHHH MITZIIIII!! this looks soooooooooo beautiful and yummy!! You could totally sell it and put it on display~~~ :D

  3. Oh my gosh, your photos are so good, I can practically taste it! I agree with the comment above – you could totally sell this. It’s so perfect!

  4. I literally lol-ed at your use of the garlic press – brilliant!

    I’ve never really “craved” key lime pie either, but put one in front of me and I’m sold!

  5. I am totally adopting the phrase “sour lover”. I am definitely one of them!

  6. Okay, WOW. Wow. WOW. This looks so good! What a great Easter dessert! :)

    Thanks for sharing!! Beautiful pics! :)

  7. wow, these pictures are just beautiful! i love key lime pie, i was a convert after my husband and i went to joe’s stone crabs in miami for our anniversary and got treated to a slice. recipe here. p.s. yours looks better!

  8. Your key-lime pie is beautiful! I love love love the way you decorated it. I am definitely stealing that idea.

  9. Key lime pie is one of the few desserts I like to eat. Gotta love the fact that the tartness overpowers the sweet.

    I will be looking forward to you next attempt.

    The pictures are gorgeous!

  10. Apparently, I need to find myself a Fresh & Easy. I’ve never seen a key lime here in the bay!
    O, and, the key lime pie looks gorgeous. And I bet it was delicious!

Leave a Reply

