you say salmon, i say salmon

I’ll be honest, I say salmon incorrectly. I pronounce the “l” and for that, Jeff is ashamed of me. Ah well, now I say it just to annoy him!

Yesterday, I went to Trader Joe’s.

-organic baby spinach

-organic baby carrots

-frozen brown rice (ugh why does this have to be so convenient?!)

-chicken sausage

-2 buck chuck

-and salmon, the reason for the Trader Joe’s trip!



Everything for $22.67 –



This particular grocery trip happened after I asked Jeff if he felt like having salmon for dinner. And after he said oh yes please!

We LOVE fresh salmon. I like to prepare fresh salmon in the simplest way possible – just seared for a few minutes on each side on a fry pan. The absolute worst thing to me is 100% fully cooked salmon – it just tastes so dry and blah. I like it to be slightly undercooked in the middle. And no salt or pepper is needed because the salmon is just so delicious on it’s own!

I have a question though. Is farm-raised salmon really not good for you? I think I’ve heard from places here and there that Wild Alaskan salmon is a much healthier choice. I’ve never tried Wild Alaskan salmon, but I kind of sort of have a huge feeling that it is not as delicious as farm-raised salmon. I’d love your input if you have any idea!

Anyway, our dinner last night (and tonight!) was 1/2 of one salmon fillet each, brown rice, and sauteed spinach with garlic.

That pile of spinach is 1/2 the bag of the spinach. It’s my most favorite way to eat spinach! After the salmon is seared in the pan, there is the perfect amount of the fish’s oil left in the pan. Then to the pan, I add a bunch (6 cloves, but that might be a little excessive) of minced garlic, and then the whole bag of spinach. then I season with a little salt and pepper. So simple and so good!

For a while, I really wanted to love having spinach in my smoothies so that I could get more spinach in my diet. And to be honest, it’s not that bad, BUT I really prefer my smoothies to be purely fruit based, like this. And THEN when I made this sauteed spinach, any desire to have spinach smoothies flew out the window. It’s so easy and delicious to get spinach into my diet this way and I don’t have to sacrifice my smoothies for it! In fact, I need to save my spinach so I could eat it like this more often!

Plus, supposedly you get more of spinach’s nutrients when the spinach is cooked!

This is one of Jeff and my favorite meals. Usually, we douse all our meals with crazy loads of spicy sriracha sauce, but this is one meal we don’t put on any. The flavors are so simple and delicious, we just want to taste that!



For dessert, we had this:

An equally perfect ending.

14 Comments to “you say salmon, i say salmon”

  1. I (sometimes…) say SALmon, too!! :D years ago on vacation with two girlfriends, I was mispronouncing many words for fun and it was annoying one of the girls, which only made me want to do it more…

    dinner looks perfectly delicious, as does dessert!

  2. that looks like a fantastic meal! i love salmon as well!

  3. What a beautiful dinner! I agree with you on overdone salmon. I can’t stand it when it’s dried out and flaky in a bad way. Give me the moist juicy center any day of the week.

    And don’t you just love Trader Joes??

  4. i love salmon too! i’m so jealous your trader joes has fresh fish, the ones in our area only have frozen fish. booo!

  5. Awwww…doesn’t matter how you say it but rather that you enjoy eating it!! :) Your whole meal looks wonderful, and we also oftentimes make spinach the same way. We can both eat spinach every day we love it that much!!

    I’m not sure what kind of salmon is better for you…farm raised or wild, but I prefer the taste of the farm raised salmon better.

    Anyway, what’s spicy sriracha sauce? I’ve never heard of it.

    By the way, I just wanted to let you know that I’ve given you an award…the Versatile Blogger Award.

    Here’s the post on my website where I’ve mentioned your name and most interesting blog:

    http://kemalandsheila.com/2011/04/versatile-blogger-award-and-red-lentil-bulgar-balls/

    If you accept the award, let me know and pass the award onto 15 other newly found bloggers. The rule (which are easy) are listed on my post.

    http://kemalandsheila.com/2011/04/versatile-blogger-award-and-red-lentil-bulgar-balls/

    I’ve really enjoyed browsing your website! You have a lot of great recipes that I can’t wait to try! :) Cheers! sheila

  6. I love salmon. I love Trader Joes. I love the simplictiy of your meal. I agree on overcooking salmon….I like it the way you do!

  7. Pardon me, for saying this, but I think you must be mad thinking wild-caught won’t taste as good as farm-raised! Have you ever seen wild caught salmon for sale beside farm-raised? It is a much darker, richer pink and the fat layers are far thinner. It is so much better that I cannot even eat farm-raised (same goes for tilapia now that it is popular). And to answer your is it really better for you… Y E S farm-raised fish are dosed up with antibiotics because they live in such crowded environs. They are also more likely to be raised in mercury-contaminated water. And death rate is high in these farms, so the fish become cannibals. Ewww.
    Promise me you will give wild-caught a try. If you don’t like it, I will be shocked.

    • thanks Channon for such an informative comment! never knew that about the farm-raised salmon.
      i guess it isn’t fair of me to automatically assume wild-caught isn’t as delicious without even trying it first! i think i’ve heard several people comment that it isn’t, which is where i made the assumption. but i should find out for myself!
      farm-raised salmon is what i grew up eating all my life and i absolutely love it, which is why i haven’t even attempted wild-caught. but i promise you that i will try wild-caught…SOON. thanks! :)

Leave a Reply

