project money smart

I realize that this is not exactly a blog about money, but I think that’s the beauty of blogs – you can venture out on what you want to write about. Blogs don’t need to be “perfect.” Now, books or magazine articles are a different story – you’d better write about whatever you’re paid to write about, and stick to the subject!

So today I felt like talking about money!

Moral of today’s post: I need to get smarter about money.

Thus was born, Project Money Smart.

In some ways, I am smart with money because I can be very organized and meticulous with my spending. I am all about excel spreadsheets and creating budgets and saving receipts and keeping track of all my spendings. But sometimes life gets in the way and all those things go out the window.

And lately, life has gotten in the way.

Money and debt and all those things are very subjective and personal things. What may be a huge amount to one person, may seem like nothing to the next!

Right now, I am working to pay off 4 credit cards. And it seems like an enormous feat to me. I know compared to others’ debts, it’s nothing.

But to me, it’s blargh. And that’s all I want to say about that.

But really, I’m excited to become debt-free. I even made an excel spreadsheet with a plan of action last night! Fun stuff! And that’s no sarcasm.

Some sources say to pay off the smallest credit card first. The reason being it’ll be paid off the fastest since it’s the smallest, and kicking one credit card out of the way will give you the mojo to pay off the next credit card, and the next, and so on.

That makes sense, but it also seems to make sense to pay off the credit card with the highest APR.

Well, I’m sure this will be a continuous journey and I’ll be sure to update my progress in my “money smarts.”

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade!

Or, to be more true to the situation, when you give yourself sour lemons, make watermelon-rosemary lemonade! It’ll be delicious. =)

ETA: any advice or personal stories are welcome! =)

10 Comments to “project money smart”

  1. watermelon rosemary lemonade? Mmm… there’s that rosemary again! ;) earlier you said ANOTHER dog would be named cilantro… do you have a dog now? :)

    • yeah that watermelon rosemary lemonade was insane. insanely delicious that is!

      well i had 3 dogs, but they’ve all passed unfortunately =( my last dog (and the one i loved the most! oops favorites…) passed last september. he got pretty old, about 15 years old, so it was just time.
      i want to get another dog(s) but it may be a little while before i do!

  2. geez, so focused on Rosemary I forgot what I just read!

    good luck with the credit cards… without knowing amounts, unless one APR is ginormously larger, I’d probably do a blend of both things you said – which would probably mean pay equally to all, then when one is zero redistribute $ amounts and make larger payments… not really advice (unsolicited) just my musings :)

    love the photos!

  3. I feel your pain. I am going through a similar situation. I am currently trying to get of debit so I have started with tackling my credit cards. I had two cards and I finally finished paying off the one with highest interest and I am now working on my last. It’s a slow processes but it’s worth it.

  4. i would combine all your cards onto a new one with 0% APR for a year and pay it off that way.

  5. I’m not a debt expert at all, but I did just read a book about finance called Hot, Broke, Messes: How to have your latte and drink it too. [It had a hot pink cover, I’m basically a marketers dream..] I thought it was pretty informative, and helped me learn a little bit about debt, credit cards, savings, etc. but in a friendly girl-to-girl kind of conversation. I don’t know if you’re trying to learn more about it, but I thought you might find it helpful! I think in the book she suggested paying the one with the highest interest rate first, or consolidating them onto an existing card with the lowest rate. Oh, and after you pay them off, don’t cancel them! Apparently that lowers your credit score.

    That first photo is absolutely breathtaking!

Leave a Reply

