that’s what she baked: cake pops

I may be the last one on earth to try making Bakerella’s cake pop’s, but I finally did this past weekend. Better late to the party than never right?

To be honest, the first time I had a cake pop was when Starbucks was giving them out for free, which was a few weeks ago. I never really had a desire to try a cake pop – let alone make one myself. But Jeff and I fell in love with cake pops at first bite.

And there was no more holding me back to making it for myself.

Jeff and I may be in the minority here, but both our favorite flavors at Starbucks (note: Starbucks is our first and only experience with cake pops!) was the pink Birthday Cake flavor. I was surprised because I was sure he’d love the Rocky Road one, but nope, for once we were in agreement with our food preference!

But cake pops from Starbucks cost about $2.50 for two of them. After doing the math I realized I could make about 50 cake pops for less than $10! Sure, I’d need to do the work, but it’s fun work. =)

I wanted to make a cake pop as close to the Birthday Cake one as possible so I started with Yellow Cake cake mix and Buttercream frosting.

Yellow cake…I love it.

And this is why I love parchment paper. Just lift and transfer the whole cake in one swoop.

 

After cooling, crumbling, and mixing in3/4 a can of frosting, I got to rolling…

 

Then I dipped each lollipop stick into the melted pink candy melts before sticking them into the balls…

I’m not sure if this actually helped with the stick staying more secure in the ball, but it couldn’t hurt!

 

And then I got to dipping and sprinkling…

I even made my own DIY cake-pop-holding-mechanism. It worked, but next time, I’ll invest in some styrofoam. ;)

 

I also dipped some cake pops into white “confetti” candy melts.

They were cute, but hands down I will be sticking with the pink candy melts. For some reason, even though the ingredients and nutrition and everything was practically the same between the white and pink candy melts on the package, the white candy melts had a much thicker consistency. That almost made it easier to dip the cake pops because it didn’t drip as much, but the end result was more thick and “chunky.”

 

The verdict with these cake pops? Well, we did a taste test between these and the Starbucks ones (yep we actually went to Starbucks to get their cake pops so we can do a side-by-side test!). And here are our thoughts:

1. The homemade ones had a much more “bready” texture inside. This may be because I added as little frosting as possible to the cake crumbs, while still having the dough stick. This “bready” texture wasn’t better or worse, just different.

2. Starbucks’ cake pops were bigger than the homemade ones. We both liked that. Next time I will be making my cake pops bigger.

3. We both agreed that the homemade cake pops were richer and sweeter than Starbucks’ cake pops. Jeff didn’t think that was better or worse, just different. I thought that was worse. I enjoy Starbucks’ cake pops more because it’s not so rich and sweet. The outer shell is already sweet, so I thought it would be fine – in fact better – if the insides were not so sweet too. I think the richness and sweetness is due to the frosting, so next time I will try an alternative to the frosting to make the dough stick. What that alternative is, I’m not sure. But I’m willing to experiment!

4. I think I will now stop talking about our unnatural obsession with studying cake pops.

I can’t wait to keep experimenting with these. What is your experience with cake pops?

10 Comments to “that’s what she baked: cake pops”

  1. omg…please send some my way!!!

  2. these turned out so cute! i didn’t have the lollipop sticks when i had the urge to make these, so i made triple chocolate cake balls. i’m sort of obsessed with them:)

  3. They’re adorable!!! You did a great job!! :) And no…you’re not the last person to try these. I still haven’t taken the plunge. It’s not that I don’t want to, but I’m waiting for just the right occasion.

    Reminds me…I really ought to pick up a block of Styrofoam so I’ll have it when I’m ready to make them. Your DIY pop holder was a great idea by the way! :)

  4. sounds like a fun taste test! I made chocolate cake pops once. Everyone loved them but I wasn’t quite sure they were worth the effort…

  5. Hi, just made cake pops today from scratch. One problem – they were not very round as mixture was too gloopy and the stick didn’t stick. Do you have to use the melts? Any ideas? Thanks.

  6. hi,
    did you ever figure out how to make them not so sweet?

  7. We stumbled over here by a different web address and thought I may as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to exploring your web page repeatedly.

Leave a Reply

