my favorite cheese

I’ve always had a love affair with mozzarella. The flavor of it is so simple and in it’s freshest form it resembles a…baby’s bottom. Or a ball of dough. I like both things.

Then I fell in even greater love when I came across Burrata. Which is essentially mozzarella cream…in mozzarella. Silky and smooth on the outside, creamy and milky on the inside. How could I not love it?

Look at the dreaminess of that cheese. Or maybe that’s just the camera’s tricks and the depth of field…

The first time I had a taste of this heavenly cheese was at a wonderful restaurant in San Francisco called Boboquivari’s. We went there for one of our friend’s 30th birthday and it was one of the best meals I’ve had in San Francisco.

Someone at our table immediately ordered the Burrata as an appetizer. I was skeptical at first because I had never heard of it before, but I was so glad they did. It was hands down the star of the meal.

Oh my. If only pictures could come back to life.

Then when I saw this beauty of a cheese at Whole Foods, and then Trader Joe’s, I was ecstatic. It is nowhere close to the deliciousness served at Bobo’s, but since I’m not a millionaire and can’t go to Bobo’s everyday, this will have to do.

And it does well. Yum.

What is your favorite cheese?

I happen to gravitate towards soft (brie) and mild (mozzarella) cheeses and avoid cheeses that are hard (parmesan) and stinky (parmesan). Of course, I’ll eat parmesan but it’s not my first choice.

Jeff”s favorite cheese hands down is Pepper Jack. He likes his flavors…bold.

P.S. If you happen to visit Boboquivari’s, make sure to order the Iron-Skillet Roasted Mussels, Shrimp, & Crab.

That was the second star of the night.

Ahhh…I want some…now!

10 Comments to “my favorite cheese”

  1. Drrrrooooooling. I love fresh mozzarella. I never knew you could eat its “cream”…I didn’t know such things existed. And I almost wish I still hadn’t, because now I will not be able to sleep well until I get some!

  2. i have never had burrata it looks amaaaaazing though!

  3. lets go back! =)

  4. That Trader Joe’s Mozzerrella looks amazing. I am defiantly going to keep my eye out for that. I love all cheese but I think I lean more towards the extra sharp cheeses.

  5. i had no idea that trader joes sold burrata, i will definitely look for at my next trip:)
    i do like hard cheeses, and have been very excited that trader joes has some hard cheese that have unique exteriors. my favorite last winter was a toscano with a cinnamon rind. last week i got the toscano with a black pepper rind, also quite lovely. especially over pasta and pizza of course:)

  6. I love burrata! But I’m also a big fan of stinky cheeses. The stronger the better for me :)

  7. I’ve always wanted to try Burrata!! I would have to say my favorite cheese is probably gorgonzola…the stinkier the better :) BTW, great pics!

  8. Wow that cheese looks good. I love all cheeses! My favorite would have to be pepper jack. :)

Leave a Reply

