That’s What She Baked: Malt Chocolate Chip Cookies

These are the best cookies to come out of my kitchen. And there has not been one person who has tried it that has not loved it. And I know they weren’t just being nice! How do I know? Well…I don’t know, I guess they could be really good at acting…but whatever, they liked it!

They are not my cookie recipe though. They are none other than Pioneer Woman’s Malt Chocolate Chip Cookies. And I didn’t change one thing about it because I’m a firm believer in: don’t change what’s not broken!!!

And let me tell you, these cookies are most definitely not broken…

I love these cookies so much that they were the subject of conversation that I chose to bring up to Pioneer Woman when she was here a few weeks ago. We had a little bonding moment over them. And her tiramisu (go make this ASAP too!).

Love her! And her cookies.

The secret to these cookies is that instead of wet milk, you use malted milk. And that makes all the difference in the world.

I love the flavor of malted milk. It’s not overwhelming and if no one were to tell me that there’s malted milk in these cookies, I might not know it. But I would know that there is something unique about them and a wonderful milki-ness to them. Of course, this scenario has never happened so it’s all hypothetical what I would’ve thought, but lets just say that’s what would happen…

Not only are these cookies so ridiculously yummy, but they’re really easy too! PW does suggest sifting the dry ingredients, and honestly sifting is one of my favorite things to do!

I do have a traditional sifter. You know — one of those sifters with the crank on the side? But I enjoying sifting with this kind of sieve 100% more. It’s much more fuss-free and so much fun!

I usually use a cookie scooper to scoop out the dough onto the pan.

Now, don’t make the same mistake as me in the above photo. I forgot how much these cookies spread (which is what I adore about these cookies!) and this really should have been 2 columns of cookies instead of 3. I quickly learned after the first batch and switched it up to 2 columns.

And, if it were up to me, this cookie sheet would’ve gone into the oven straight like this, but since Jeff probably would’ve killed me for skipping the chocolate chips, I compromised by putting 4 on each one. The actual recipe says to fold 1 whole bag of chocolate chips into the batter!!! If you love chocolate (like Jeff) by all means, do that!

I really like this method though because there’s no chance the chocolate chips will end up at the bottom of the cookie and melting onto the sheet. And instead of a whole bag of chocolate chips, I probably used 1/4 a bag…if even that!

And just 10 minutes in the oven, and you’ll get the most perfect cookie:

They’re thin, chewy, and absolutely perfect even days later! If you want to make a definite crowd pleasing cookie, head over to The Pioneer Woman’s blog and make her cookies!

You won’t regret it. =)

Nutritional Information for 1 cookie: 140 calories, 6g fat, 4g saturated fat, 56mg sodium, 19g carbohydrates, 0g fiber, 12g sugar, 2g protein

P.S. that’s what she baked is a series for recipes that are completely followed to the T and I find no reason for changing! i have a whole slew of recipes that I’d love to try and when I make something for the first time, I usually like to follow the recipe as is. And if the recipe is perfect, I see no reason to tinker with it!

19 Comments to “That’s What She Baked: Malt Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. these look awesome.

  2. Yummmmm! Fun that you got to meet her!

  3. can i get some cookies?? ;)

  4. Mouth Watering!! and I love your photos. Pure food perfection!

  5. Wow, these cookies really came out looking amazing. I love Pioneer woman. And I would have never thought of using malted milk. Great tip. Wonderful post.

  6. So cool you got to meet her! I heard her cookbook is great!! The cookies look yummy!!!

  7. Ooh, I would never think to use malt powder in cookies! I bet they have a great flavor :)

  8. Wow! My husband’s favorite ice cream is Rite Aid/Thrifty’s Chocolate Malted Crunch. I must make these cookies for him!

  9. more please more!

  10. Oooh, you got to meet The Pioneer Woman! And you made delicious cookies! This is an awesome post :D

  11. How cool you met PDub herself! These cookies look great!

  12. They. Look. Amazing. Holy crap…please do send my way :)

  13. i love malt powder, it adds such a distinct flavor to baked goods:)

Leave a Reply

