borrowing a lens

Who else is excited for the weekend?? I am!!

Weekends, they make me happy.

I’m especially excited because we’re renting some lenses and we’re going to go pick them up tomorrow! Jeff wanted to rent a 70-200mm lens for a wedding he’s going to on Saturday and I’ve been wanting to try out a 60mm macro lens, so I told him to add that to the list as well. ;D

We’re borrowing the lenses from BorrowLenses.com and they’re not too faraway so it’s convenient to pick the lenses up and drop them off. Jeff found a great discount code through their twitter too! We’ve borrowed lenses from them before and they make everything super convenient and easy. (No, they did not pay me to compliment them — they’re just a great company!)

We’ll be keeping the lenses throughout the week and returning them next Friday. In the meantime, I’m really excited to try out the 60mm macro lens for food photography!

In all honesty though, I’m really happy using my 17-55mm f/2.8 lens. I always thought I’d prefer my 50mm f/1.4 for food photography, but I really like the flexibility that the 17-55mm gives me and I usually find that such a low f-stop is not necessary. And sometimes the 50mm lens is a little too long for me, which means I might have a problem with the 60mm macro lens because it is even longer! I do want to experiment though so I’ll be doing a lot of that next week!

What about you? If you have a DSLR, what is your favorite lens to use?

17 Comments to “borrowing a lens”

  1. i don’t have a dslr but i hope to one day!

  2. i have a 50mm and i also find it too long for food photography. i have to step on a chair, then now it’s too short (thank God for cropping!). but it’s my favorite because it’s really sharp, i now use it 90% of the time and leave my kitlens at home. plus i only have two lenses hee hee!

    btw, do tell me how the 70-200mm of your husband will do for the wedding–i’m thinking of what lens to purchase for a wedding event as well^_^

  3. love that first photo. so clear!

  4. I don’t know the first thing about lenses. I have a fancy ass camera that I don’t know how to use properly. I really need to take a photography class so I can get with the program. :)

  5. Nice pictures! =)

  6. i have a canon, i’m still not super comfortable using it though!

  7. I just have my little digital sony and I am still not sure quite how to use it! All your pictures are absolutely gorgeous!

  8. I don’t know too much about lenses, but I really wish I had a macro lens. Mine is a 35mm/f1.8 Nikon lens. I really love it though! :-)

  9. I have a 55mm lens, and it works great for food, but not so practical for most other things. Saving my pennies for another lens, slowly but surely :)

Leave a Reply

