My Favorite Smoothie

Hi all. How is the weather where you are today? Well the weather here today had me craving a cold, refreshing smoothie since basically the moment I got up.

I like to keep things simple, and this smoothie is definitely simple. I don’t need or want spinach, yogurt, granola, or whatever it is in there.

Just 3 simple ingredients…

Milk, frozen bananas, and frozen blueberries. Together, they create MMMMMmmmm…

I guess I’m on a blueberry kick lately. But I don’t mind, because they’re chock full of antioxidants right?? The more the better!

Plus, they’re purty…

Whir it all up in a blender (a single-serve blender is best because clean-up is a breeze! This is the one I have and we love it! ). And pour it into your favorite cup…

An even better pick-me-up than coffee. =)

Milk makes such a difference in smoothies. I made this with water once because we were out of milk and…blech! Milk, its very important.

What’s your favorite milk to use for smoothies?

Mine, is this:

Not only is it delicious and vanilla flavored, but take a look at the expiration date!

Most of the almond milks I’ve purchased in the past have written, “Use within 7-10 days after opening.” It gives me peace and rest of mind to know I have until May 6, 2011 to finish this carton! Even though I’ll probably finish it before then, I like to not have a deadline for anything hehe.

That’s a win in my book!

 

Blueberry Smoothie

Serves: 1

 

Ingredients:

-2/3 cup frozen blueberries

-1/2 cup frozen bananas

-1 cup milk (I used unsweetened Vanilla almond milk)

-1 tsp vanilla extract (optional — I didn’t use it here, but sometimes, I like to)

 

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a single-serve blender.

Whir away. Drink!

 

Nutritional Information: 130 calories, 3g fat, 0g saturated fat, 180mg sodium, 25g carbohydrates, 5g fiber, 14g sugar, 2g protein

12 Comments to “My Favorite Smoothie”

  1. Now I’m craving a smoothie! I will have to try this since it’s so simple. I’ll need a blender first though.

  2. love the vibrant color the blueberry makes!

  3. I am also addicted to blueberries. I just stand at the counter eating pints of berries…it’s a problem.

    Thank you so much for your kind comment on my blog. I don’t know how you found me…but to have people support me – even without knowing me or what it is that is happening truly…it means more than words can say.

    Peace.

  4. sounds like a perfect combination to me!

  5. Hmmm, the smoothie sounds refreshing and delicious.
    p.s. the name of your blog is fantastic!

  6. Mmm simple is always the best! I definitely agree with you on the expiration date deal, the longer the better with things like that :-)

  7. I LOVE smoothies! I have them everyday! I love to add frozen pineapple to mine (frozen banana, frozen pineapple, vanilla soy milk and some plain greek yogurt!) Then I pretend it is a pina colada… ;)

  8. I SO much wish I had blueberries in the house so I could make this!!! Looks so good!!! I’ll have to give it a try one day for lunch…think I’ll make mine with coconut milk. :)

Leave a Reply

