Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins

One of my personal goals with this blog is to create a list of “go-to” recipes. A list of recipes that I’ve tried, loved, and know I will make over and over. A list that I’m proud of! It doesn’t matter if these recipes are originally by me or someone else. All I care is that I LOVE the recipe! So all the recipes that have proved to be tried and true to me will appear on my “RECIPES” tab.

Now of course, these recipes that are “go-to” for me, may not be “go-to” for everyone. No matter how good they may seem to me, it may be disgusting for someone else. That was a hard lesson for me to learn. Really?? Not everyone likes what I like?? But that’s crazy! Jeff always says to me, “Sweetie, just because you like it, doesn’t mean everyone else does too.” *POUT*

But of course, Jeff is right.

Except for with these blueberry muffins. These are the best blueberry muffins and I just KNOW you’ll love them too. You just have to. Because I do.

Jeff absolutely loved these blueberry muffins too. Signs I’ve learned to read that he really likes something: when he keeps eating it, says “its good,” and asks for more. But even when he likes something he almost always gives me helpful feedback, like…”it could’ve used a little more salt” or “I wish it had been a little less dry.” I am so thankful for his constructive criticism. So….so….thankful….(is there a sarcasm key?) Just kidding. I really am thankful. It helps me grow…as a cook and a baker. Not as a person though. Just kidding.

But sometimes he says there is nothing I can do to make it more perfect.

This, was one of those times. I guess it doesn’t hurt that his favorite fruit is blueberries. And these muffins are best made with fresh, fresh blueberries.

I love that Trader Joe’s sells fresh organic blueberries for $3.99. Go get some!

 

Two things I love about this recipe: one, it uses whole wheat pastry flour. I can’t tell any difference to this and white flour, and it makes me feel healthy so that’s good.

Looks pretty white huh?

Another thing I love is the crumb topping. The muffin itself is soft and moist and the crumb topping gives it a wonderful crunch factor.

I left a few without the crumb topping…

What a cutie! (And still very, very delicious)

Please! Don’t hesitate to make these. I love them, so that means you MUST like them too, right? Right??

*chirp chirp*

Okay fine, but if you change your mind, here’s the recipe!

 

Blueberry Muffins

Makes: 8 bigger muffins or 12 smaller muffins

 

Ingredients

-1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour

-3/4 cup brown sugar

-1/2 tsp salt

-2 tsp baking powder

-1/3 cup canola oil

-1 egg

-1 tsp vanilla extract

-1/3 cup milk

-1 cup fresh blueberries

 

for the crumb topping:

-1/3 cup brown sugar

-3 T flour

-4 T butter, chilled

 

Directions

Make topping by mixing all ingredients in a small bowl with a fork. Use your fingers to break up the butter into the mixture. Do this until the mixture becomes course. Keep in the fridge until needed.

Preheat oven to 375F. Line muffin tin with liners.

Combine flour, sugar, salt and baking powder in a bowl. Mix in blueberries.

In a separate bowl, mix together canola oil, egg, vanilla and milk. Slowly add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until it just comes together. Be sure to not overmix!

Fill liners to the top with batter (or less if you want smaller muffins). Top with crumb topping.

Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown and done.

 

Nutritional Information (for 1 muffin without crumb topping): 150 calories, 6g fat, 0.5g saturated fat, 70mg sodium, 23g carbohydrates, 0.5g fiber, 11g sugar, 2g protein
8 Comments to “Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins”

  1. “To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” -Oscar Wilde

  2. yum =) can i have some more?

  3. pretty blueberries!

  4. Oh my goodness, I love blueberry muffins! These look sooo delicious, thanks for sharing the recipe!

  5. What beautiful photos! I absolutely love anything blueberry, so I’ll definitely give these a try :)

  6. these remind me of the blueberry muffins my mom made as a kid, i just adore the crumb topping.

Leave a Reply

