Salted Caramel Ice Cream

The other day I had a wonderful time with an old friend of mine. We got our nails done (You Don’t Know Jacques!) and got Chicago pizza (we are in Northern California and I believe there is only one place here comparable to the Chicago pizza in well, Chicago. But that’s for a post at another time) for dinner. And then we went to get some frozen yogurt.

While I was spooning tiny bites of tart, organic, soy, frozen yogurt into my mouth, I had a revelation.

I don’t like frozen yogurt anymore.

In fact, did I ever like it? Or was I merely going along with the fad that had swept across the nation? Did I just pretend to like it because it was “light” and I could have a go-to after-dinner dessert whenever I wanted without feeling guilty even though I never enjoyed it?

I tend to get deep thoughts like this towards food. I didn’t know the answer to these questions but in that moment all I knew was that what I really wanted was something…better.

And since this was my fantasy, in particular what I wanted was Salted Caramel ice cream from Bi-Rite Creamery.

If you ever find yourself in San Francisco, please do yourself a favor and look up Bi-Rite Creamery. Then go there, find a lucky parking spot, get in the line that trails around the corner, and order yourself a scoop of Salted Caramel ice cream.

I promise, you won’t be sorry.

Of course, they have a ton of other (genius) flavors to choose from. I got overwhelmed on my first visit there because I wanted to try everything. Brown Butter Pecan?? Roasted Banana?? Brown Sugar with Ginger Caramel Swirl?? Earl Grey?? Cinnamon with Snickerdoodles?? Honey Lavender?? Salted Caramel?? My mind was spinning. My heart wanted it all.

I sampled two flavors, ordered 3 flavors, and had Jeff also order 3 flavors so I could maximize my sampling capacity. I got a tummyache, and all it did was confuse me because it was nighttime and I could barely see the different flavors as they melted into each other.

Since then, I have learned my lesson, chiseled it down to 3 favorites, and know what I am getting even before I step into line (and there is always a line, even at 11pm on a freezing night): a scoop of Salted Caramel, a scoop of Earl Grey, and a scoop of Honey Lavender. Hey, I just drove half an hour to the city – gotta live it up right?

The Salted Caramel is rich and has the perfect caramel taste. The taste that tastes…burnt. In fact, if I could have it my way I’d rename this to Burnt Caramel. Earl Grey is much more subtle and tastes like Milk Tea. It’s the perfect balance to the rich Salted Caramel flavor. And the Honey Lavender creates a party on my tongue. It is not only perfectly and sweetly delicious but the flavor of lavender is such an un-everyday flavor that it makes my tongue excited and happy.

Jeff? He’s boring and always orders chocolate. I’ll never understand that guy. But then again, many don’t understand me because I’m not a fan of chocolate. Yep, its true. My boyfriend loves chocolate more than I do. No, I did not say my boyfriend loves chocolate more than me. The first is sad, but the latter would just be really sad.

But no matter what flavor, to me, ice cream will always win over frozen yogurt.

I’m passionate about my ice cream, can you tell?

4 Comments to “Salted Caramel Ice Cream”

  1. O.K., I’m a chocolate girl at heart, but your three favorite picks would probably be what I’d end up with, too. I love tea – and Earl Grey is my very favorite. And I love honey and lavender both separately and together. And salted caramel…yum! Yes, please. I’d love to go to CA sometime and if I do, I’ll have to find your ice cream place! Sounds marvelous!

  2. wish i could have some of that right now!

  3. i’ve been there! i agree, salted caramel is the way to go!

Leave a Reply

